top of page

Frequently Asked Questions 


We have gathered for you some questions and answers.
Have a read.

What is ERHIN?

The European Responsible Housing Initiative (ERHIN) has been a project implemented by DELPHISHousing Europe and the International Union of Tenants, co-funded by the European Commission (DG Enterprise). The project was carried out between April 2013 and October 2014, with a view to lead the way towards better embedding Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) in the public, cooperative, and social housing sector, through awareness-raising, transfer of knowledge and tools and stakeholder dialogue at European level.

If you would like to have an idea of the types of projects and initiatives that have been awarded in previous editions, please have a look at our European Responsible Housing Awards Handbooks from 2014, 2016, 2019, 2022 and videos about the winners.

Who can participate in the Awards?

The applications are open to the social and affordable housing sector and to the hybrid sector (public + private), but they are NOT open to the private for-profit sector. Municipalities, if housing providers, are also welcome to apply.

Which languages are accepted for the application?

Only English is accepted. Applications submitted in another language will not be evaluated.

When will be the next application period open?

ERHA takes place every two years and the application period usually starts in the autumn. So stay tuned.

What are the evaluation criteria of the applications?

The Jury is paying particular attention to the following aspects:

  • Stakeholder dialogue and Partnerships: How were stakeholders involved in the design and implementation of the housing project?

  • Awareness-raising and leadership: To what extent does it contribute to raise awareness on CSR, responsible housing and sustainable development?

  • Transparency and accountability: To what extent is the organisation transparent/accountable on its commitments, actions and results relating to the proposed good practice?

  • Operational implementation: Were some specific tools developed/used? How replicable are they?

  • Assessment of the shared value created: To what extent/how was the impact assessed?

  • To what extent is the project innovative? The Jury will assess the novelty of the project and to what extent does it use new approaches and/or technology to meet housing needs.

What are the categories of the Awards?

The Categories of the Awards will be based on the Code of Conduct and will thus be:

Fair financing for housing affordability

More than a roof – supporting communities of equal opportunities

Leaders of innovation, agents of fair energy transition

Building strategic alliances, fostering community participation

The 2022 edition includes a special prize for pandemic-related special solutions.

Going the extra mile in extraordinary circumstances

Who to contact in case of further questions?

Please send an email to We will be happy to answer you.

How is the Jury composed?

The Awards Jury is composed of members of the European Responsible Housing Stakeholder Forum set up in the framework of the ERHIN Project as well as experts in CSR from other sectors. For more information.

When will the European Responsible Housing Awards be celebrated?

The last ceremony of the European Responsible Housing Awards took place in Helsinki (Finland) on 16 June, during the International Social Housing Festival (14-17 June 2022). Detail on the next edition will be published on this website.

bottom of page